NATSP Board of directors


Dr. Samuel A. Apikyan
Chairman and CEO

Advanced Sciences & Technology Center, Director, 2002-2011. NATO Project “MATRIX” (Nonproliferation and Threat Reduction Cooperation) Director, 2005-2011.  USA government ISTC project for "Developing and Analysis Measures to Improve the Safety of ANPP", Manager 2000-2007. European Commission project, "Strengthening Non-proliferation Regime and Combating Illicit Trafficking", Manager 2009-2011. Chairman, NATO-2009 meeting, “Nuclear Power & Energy Security”. Chairman, NATO-2008 meeting, “Threat Detection, Response and Consequence Management”. Chairman, NATO-2007 meeting, “Prevention, Detection & Response to Nuclear and Radiological Threat”. Chairman, NATO-2005 meeting, “Countering Nuclear and Radiological Terrorism”. 1987 Ph.D. ITP, TU; 1999 Ph.D. in HEP, YSU.                  

Dr. David J. Diamond

Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL), Chief Scientist, Nuclear Science and Technology Department, working on nuclear reactor safety (analysis of neutronics, thermal-hydraulics, probabilistic risk and fuel behavior, and regulatory requirements) in both power and non-power reactors for the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, the Department of Energy (DOE) and the National Institute of Standards and Technology.  During 2011 he was also on the Steering Committee for the DOE Light Water Reactor Sustainability Project and a member of the National Research Council’s Committee on Conversion of U.S. and Russian Research Reactors.  In the past he has been a consultant to regulatory agencies in Europe, Asia, and South America and to the simulator industry.  At BNL he has had management responsibility for diverse projects in structural analysis, human factors, operational safety, and life extension.  He is a fellow of the American Nuclear Society and has a PhD in Nuclear Engineering from Massachusetts Institute of Tech­nology.

Ms. Carol Kessler

Expertise in nonproliferation and national security issues. 2011-2014 Chair of Nonproliferation & National Security Department at Brookhaven National Laboratory in Upton, NY; 2003-2010 Director of the Pacific Northwest Center for Global Security at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory; 2001-2003 Deputy Director General of the Nuclear Energy Agency at the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development in Paris, France; 1995-2001 the US Department of State's Senior Coordinator for Nuclear Safety; 1988-1994 Foreign Affairs Officer Department of State. B.A. from Brown University in Bio-geology in 1975, an M.S. from MIT in Technology and Policy in 1982, M.S. in National Security Studies from the US National War College in 2001.

Dr. Robert J. Budnitz

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California, Staff Scientist, Earth Sciences Division, 2007. Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, University of California, Leader, Nuclear & Risk Science Group, Associate Program Leader for Nuclear Systems Safety and Security, 2004-2007. Responsible for the Science & Technology Program, DOE Yucca Mountain Project, 2002-2004. President, Future Resources Associates, Inc., Berkeley, California, 1981-2002. Director, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washington, D.C. 1979 – 1980. Deputy Director, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research US. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, 1978 – 1979. Ph.D. Physics, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Prof. Leeka I. Kheifets

Professor, UCLA, School of Public Health;  2001-2003 Head of Radiation Program, World Health Organization; 1995–2001 Technical Executive, Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI); 2001-present, International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection (ICNIRP), Member of the Standing Committee on Epidemiology; 2002-2009 Independent Scientific Advisory Group to Swedish Radiation Protection Authority (SSI); 2001-2003 Radiation Standards Safety Committee (RASSC), International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA); 1992-1998 National Academy of Sciences/National Research Council (NAS/NRC) Commission on Life Sciences Board on Radiation Effects Research: Committee on Assessment of Center for Disease Control (CDC) Radiation Studies; 1986 Ph.D. Epidemiology, University of California, Berkeley.

Dr. Roger G. Johnston,

Founder and CEO of Right Brain Sekurity, Editor of the Journal of Physical Security; Founder and Head of the Vulnerability Assessment Teams at Argonne (2007-2015) and Los Alamos (1985-2007) National Laboratories; CISAC Science Fellow (2000-2001), Ph.D.

Mrs. Lilit Michigan,

Senior Reactor Operator, Exelon 01/2016-present; Env/RW Supervisor, Exelon, 02/2014-01/2016; Radwaste Chemist / Unit Chemist, Exelon, Byron Station, 11/2013-02/2014; Unit Chemist, Exelon, Byron Station, 07/2013-11/2013; Operations Schedule Development, Exelon, Byron Station, 2009-2011; MS in Physics and Mathematics, 1999; MS in Biophysics, 2001, YSU.

Dr. Mark C. Petri


Technology Development Director within Argonne National Laboratory’s Energy Engineering and Systems Analysis Directorate. Former manager of Argonne’s International Nuclear Safety and Cooperation section. From 2007 to 2008 Dr. Petri served as Science and Technology Advisor to Illinois Senator Richard J. Durbin in Washington, D.C. Ph.D. from Purdue University through the School of Materials Science and Engineering.

Prof. Paul H. Arshagouni

Professor of Law & Director, Health Law Program, Michigan State University College of Law. Prof. Arshagouni is an expert in health law and had a distinguished career in medicine before entering the legal profession. Paul Arshagouni is a returning visiting professor this year at California Western School of Law. J.D. 1999, University of California Los Angeles, School of Law; M.P.H. 1994, University of California Los Angeles, School of Public Health.

Dr. Kami A. Merabi
Vice Chairman

President and CEO of “Merabi and Sons” and an active philanthropist. NYC Businessman of the year 2003 – 2004 as published in NY Times. Master Law, Belford University; Honorary Doctor of Law, Berkley University.


Copyright © 2011 NATSP! All rights reserved | Designed by : NATSP